Barnet FC’s Daniel Leach on his four months out

Posted on January 19, 2011

0


The injury to Australian defender Daniel Leach was described by former manager, Mark Stimson, as a “massive blow” back in September, but there may be signs that his long road to recovery may be coming to an end.

Image obtained from barnetfc.com

Speaking to barnetfc.com, Daniel gave us an insight into his injury and how his recovery is progressing. “The injury was a fracture in my foot. Basically I was in a cast for six weeks and then a boot for another six weeks.”

“I’ve only been walking for the last three and a half weeks. As of the last two weeks it’s been pain free.”

‘The first few weeks it was a bit stiff, getting blood back to it, to help it recover. I’ve got a proper walking gait now.”

“Hopefully by the end of next week I’ll be jogging again, so getting milestones done and just taking it like that.”

Pushed for a date on which Barnet fans could expect to see him back in training, Daniel was cautiously optimistic.

“It’s hard to say when I’ll be back competitively.The bone is still essentially not healed; it’s got a millimetre left to heal. Hopefully it should be done in the next couple of weeks.”

Support

He explained that the hardest part of his recovery to deal with was going to The Underhill to watch the games and not being able to get out there. “I’m a footballer and that’s what I want to do, I don’t want to be doing rehab work.”

“Consistently for the last four months I’ve been doing two sessions a day, so it gets a little monotonous, when you want to be out there kicking a ball. ‘I miss the competition most of all.

He spoke of the support he had received from the rest of the squad during his recovery but also described how missing out on training sessions with the whole team has affected him.

“I think it’s natural that I feel a bit removed because I’m not training with them day to day.”

“It is natural that I’m on my own, doing my own thing and trying to get better.”

Word from the doctor

“I asked our consultant last week how much longer it would take, and he didn’t want to put a time limit on it.”

“I’m going to have hopefully my last scan soon.”

“I’ve got a good natural fitness anyway, so in terms of getting fit again I don’t think it’s going to take that long.”

“But it’s a question of getting the strength back in my foot again, so that I don’t injure the tendons or ligaments, because they’re weak as I haven’t effectively used them for months.”

The defender had been ever-present in the Barnet side before suffering the injury in Barnet’s 3-1 win against Cheltenham Town in September last year.

Leach has played at left-back and in central defence so a fully fit member of the squad would certainly provide Temporary Manager Paul Fairclough with additional defensive options.

Read related articles here.

 

 

Posted in: Sports