Barnet welcome new January signing

Posted on January 20, 2011

0


Barnet have signed the 23-year-old midfielder Tommy Fraser. His previous club was Port Vale for whom he has made nine appearances this season.

Image obtained from Wikipedia

On joining Vale from Brighton & Hove Albion in 2009 he was quickly made club captain. He will wear the no.28 shirt.

Not constrained by protocol or accuracy some media outlets were announcing Tommy’s signing at midday but the paperwork with the football authorities was not completed until 4.30 this afternoon.

Erroneously it was reported that he had signed a contract for a six month period. Paul Fairclough said this afternoon: “I am delighted to welcome Tommy to Barnet FC on a two and half year contact.

Tommy Fraser left Port Vale by mutual consent yesterday after finding himself out of favour with the new management after Micky Adams moved to Sheffield United.

Tommy opened up to barnetfc.com: “Obviously it came out that I had fallen out with the manager of Port Vale. I was looking for a new club, I had a few options. Paul Fairclough got hold of me and convinced me to sign for Barnet.”

Improvement

“I was interested in what they had to say, what direction they wanted for the club. It’s a good club and I can improve as a player here. I can get to where I want to be with him.”

“I just want to start playing football again, settle down and get back to doing what I do best.”

He has played in several positions across midfield, including out wide. He explained that he feels his best position is in the central midfield positions.

Leader

He said that the manager had spoken to him about where his role in the team would be.

“We’ve had a good chat about it. Without giving too much away, he’s thinking of a further forward role rather than defensive, which I’m happy about.”

“I’m a good leader, I’ve been in a relegation battle twice before with Brighton. I’m a bit of an old-school midfielder if you like. I’ll get stuck in and try my hardest every game.”

“I would like to think I’m a good character to have in the changing room. On the pitch I’ve got lots of energy and organisation, I’ll put my body on the line for the team.”

“Hopefully the fans will respond to that.”

Initial impression

Having trained for the first time with the squad today, he described his initial impressions.

“There are a few lively characters which I like to see. They seem like a good bunch and training was good. It feels good to enjoy training again, which I haven’t done for a little while now.”

“It’s very important to settle into a rhythm with the team, obviously we haven’t got long left. I just need to get in and gel with some of the players and get the job done.”

“And that’s to keep us up and to push on to bigger and better things.”

A word to the fans

A defiant Tommy had a few words he wished to say to the fans.

“Just get behind the team. We’ve got a good manager and a good team by the looks of it. It’s a good club and I just want to take it in one direction, up the table.”

Read related articles here.

Posted in: Sports