Barnet’s Darren Dennehy Remains Upbeat

Posted on January 20, 2011

0


Republic of Ireland central defender Darren Dennehy remains upbeat as he recovers from an injury he sustained in September last year.

Image obtained from barnetfc.com

He sustained his injury after making just four starting appearances for the Bees.

Speaking in an exclusive interview, the 6ft 4ins tall former Everton and Cardiff City player has spoken of his injury and his ongoing recovery, which he hopes may be coming to an end.

“I tore and dislocated the ligaments in my right foot, so I’ve had pins put in it for the past few months to put it back in place.”

“It’s healed quite well to be fair. I just started back jogging a few days ago.”

“It hasn’t had a bad reaction; it’s just been a bit painful. Hopefully I can push on next week and do a bit more.”

Longest spell out

This is the first time he has had to take this amount of time out from football since his career began.

“I haven’t been out for this long before, so it’s taken a lot out of me to get used to going into the gym every day instead of being out with the lads.”

“My family have kept me going great and the last manager was always keeping my spirits up as well, telling me to take my time and keeping me happy.”

“The time has gone quickly so hopefully it’s not long until I’ll be back.”

Support from squad

A buoyant Daniel had words of praise for the squad and staff who have helped him through this tough period.

“The boys have been brilliant, every day we’ll have a laugh and a joke and they’ll be keeping you involved.”

“I’ve spoken to Paul [Fairclough] a few times, he’s just been telling me to look after myself. He would rather see me back soon.”

What the doctor says

“Hopefully it will keep healing quickly and when I’m back to running and jogging I could be ready in a month.”

“The docs have told me that I could be back mid February. So I’ll just have to get back into training, and get sharp and we’ll see how it goes.”

“It’s frustrating to sit by and watch.”

Dennehy played 19 games on loan at Gillingham last season, but rejected a chance to stay at the club in the summer in favour of switching to the Bees.

Read related articles here

Posted in: Sports